InterLinc Home Page


Gerald Henderson Human Rights Award

In 2000, LCHR established an annual Human Rights award to recognize outstanding achievements in furthering human relations in the City of Lincoln. In 2003 the award was renamed the Gerald Henderson Human Rights award in order to remember and honor the first director of LCHR and a long-standing civil rights activist. Nominees for this award are judged based on their achievements in improving human rights based on activities implemented, services performed, or programs operated in the City of Lincoln.

2013 Winner -- Kit Boesch

Gene Crump, Chair of the Lincoln Commission on Human Rights presenting Gerald Henderson Award to Kit Boesch, Lancaster County Human Services Administrator.

Previous winners of this award include Larry Williams, Janet Banks, Annie and Leroy Stokes, the late Dan Williams of Citizens Against Racism and Discrimination, Cecilia Olivarez Huerta of the Mexican American Commission, Jose Soto and the Division of Affirmative Action, Equity and Diversity of Southeast Community College, Milo Mumgaard of Nebraska Appleseed Center for Law in the Public Interest, Florine Joseph of the Lincoln Action Program, and Beatty Brasch of the Center for People in Need.

Fair Housing Award

A highlight of the Fair Housing Conference is the annual Fair Housing Award which is awarded to a person, organization or formalized group who has made significant contributions to providing equal opportunity in the field of housing. Someone whose achievements have given new meaning to 'fair housing'. This may be:

Past Winners

Nomination Forms

Nomination Form for the Gerald Henderson Human Rights Award

Nomination Form for the Fair Housing Award