Main Menu Skip to Content
InterLinc Home Page
City of Lincoln
Floodplain Standards

Background Information

Lincoln Flood Standards Application Area Map

This map is provided as a general guide to assist in determining where the adopted flood standards are applicable, and should be used in conjunction with the flood regulations and design standards, as well as the FEMA Flood Insurance Rate Maps and Flood Insurance Study. This is particularly true with regard to Minimum Flood Corridors along streams, which must be determined based upon field conditions, and with regard to the determination of official base flood evaluations to meet federal floodplain standards. The map displays floodplain and floodway information, floodprone areas, general stream coverage, City Limits, the Existing Urban Area and New Growth Areas.

In general, the major components of the revised Flood Standards apply to 'New Growth Areas'. However, the Minimum Flood Corridor continues to be applicable within the 'Existing Urban Area' outside of the floodplain, and the flood standards for the Existing Urban Area also reflect other administrative revisions and clarifications that should not be overlooked. 'New Growth Areas' are defined as those areas outside Lincoln's City Limits, and zoned Agricultural (AG) or Agricultural Residential (AGR) on May 25, 2004. 'Existing Urban Area' is defined as those areas inside the City Limits as well as those areas outside the corporate limits having a zoning designation other than AG or AGR on May 25, 2004. The Flood Standards for New Growth Areas apply within Lincoln's 3 mile zoning jurisdiction. As this jurisdiction expands over time, so will the application of Lincoln's flood standards. Areas with zoning designations other than AG or AGR on May 25, 2004 which come into Lincoln's zoning jurisdiction in the future will continue to be defined as 'Existing Urban Area' for the purpose of the flood standards.

The 100 year Floodplain represents those lands which are subject to one percent or greater chance of flooding in any given year, as shown on the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) maps. The floodplain and floodway information is provided by FEMA and reflects the September 21, 2001 maps adopted by the City of Lincoln and Lancaster County. It does not necessarily identify all areas subject to flooding, particularly from local drainage sources, or planimetric features outside the floodplain areas. The Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) and Flood Insurance Study (FIS) are the official documents and should be utilized for detailed data on base flood evaluations, and for any detailed information in the floodplain area.

Floodprone Areas are those lands which are subject to a one percent greater chance of flooding in any given year. The floodprone area is essentially a 100 year floodplain determined by hydrologic and hydraulic studies completed by the City or other government agency, but not yet incorporated into the FEMA floodplain maps. Floodprone areas are typically identified through a process called Watershed Master Planning. Additional floodprone areas are anticipated to be identified in the future when master plans are completed in other watersheds.

Stream cover information is provided only as a guide to assist in determining where Minimum Flood Corridor standards may be applicable - each determination should be made on a site by site basis. The Minimum Flood Corridor is required within the 'Existing Urban Area' and 'New Growth Areas', and must be preserved along all channels which drain greater than 150 acres or have a defined bed and bank. However, within the 'Existing Urban Area', no Minimum Flood Corridor is required in a FEMA mapped floodplain.

Adopted May 10, 2004      Effective May 25, 2004

Acrobat Version of Map (1.86 M) Acrobat Document


Floodplain Standards