Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, January 17, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, January 17, 2018, from 12:15 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th St., Lincoln, Nebraska, to discuss UDD Reorganization.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2018

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda.

Submit public record comments on specific agenda item.


[All Commissioners present; Commissioner Corr left at 1:52 p.m.]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held January 3, 2018. **APPROVED: 7-0; Finnegan and Harris abstained**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    CHANGE OF ZONE AND RELATED SPECIAL PERMIT:

1.1a
Change of Zone
No. 17037
More Information
Change of Zone No. 17037, from R-3 (Residential District) to R-4(Residential District), on property generally located at 3720 North 1st Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL; 8-0; (Scheer declared a conflict of interest). Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for February 5, 2018.
1.1b
Special Permit
No. 17053
More Information
Special Permit No. 17053, to allow for the development of a new Community Unit Plan comprised of 10 dwelling units with waivers to setbacks and lot dimensions, on property generally located at 3720 North 1st Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated January 8, 2018: 8-0 (Scheer declared a conflict of interest). Resolution No. PC-01585.
    SPECIAL PERMITS:

1.2
Special Permit
No. 687A
More Information
Special Permit No. 687A, to allow a daycare center for up to 90 children, on property generally located at 4005 North 70th Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated January 9, 2018; 9-0. Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for February 5, 2018.
1.3
Special Permit
No. 17051
More Information
Special Permit No. 17051, to allow a daycare center for up to 120 children, on property generally located at 4401 O Street. **FINAL ACTION**
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had separate public hearing. Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated January 4, 2018: 8-0 (Corr absent). Resolution No. PC-01586.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL

None.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)

See Items 1.2 and 1.3.
4. CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment: 1:59 P.M.
PENDING LIST:    

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Dessie Redmond, Planner (402) 441-6373 dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Long Range Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov