Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, June 26, 2019, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m., Thursdays at 12:00 a.m. and Sundays at 12:30 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 26, 2019

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda.

Submit public record comments on specific agenda item.


[Commissioners Campbell and Edgerton absent]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held June 12, 2019. **APPROVED: 6-0; (Campbell and Edgerton absent)**

Resolutions of Appreciation presented to Maja V. Harris and Sändra Washington. Maja V Harris – ADOPTED; 5-0; Resolution PC- 01658; and Sändra Washington - ADOPTED; 6-0; Resolution PC-01659.

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    TEXT AMENDMENT:

1.1
Text Amendment
19003
More Information
TEXT AMENDMENT 19003, amending Lincoln Municipal Code Chapter 27.02 Definitions by amending Section 27.02.190 to add a new definition for "Retail Sales, Large Items"; amending Section 27.67.040 Parking Requirements, Special Conditions to add that large item retail sales require 1 parking space per 600 square feet of floor area; amending Figure 27.67.040 Uses with Special Parking Requirements to add "Retail Sales, Large Items"; and repealing Sections 27.02.190, 27.67.040, and Figure 27.67.040 of the Lincoln Municipal Code as hitherto existing.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Rachel Jones, 402-441-7603, rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 5-0 (Joy declared a conflict of interest; Campbell and Edgerton absent). Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, July 22, 2019, 3:00 p.m.
h6>    CHANGE OF ZONE:
1.2
Change of Zone
19017
More Information
CHANGE OF ZONE 19017, from R 6 (Residential District) to B 3 (Commercial District), on property generally located at 534 North 27th Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner:George Wesselhoft, 402-441-5662, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 5-0 (Campbell, Edgerton and Joy absent). Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, July 22, 2019, 3:00 p.m.
2. REQUEST FOR DEFERRAL

2.1
Preliminary Plat
18002
More Information
Preliminary Plat 18002, to add 430 residential lots on approximately 152.1 acres, more or less, on property generally located at the SW corner of West Old Cheney Road and South Folsom Street. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Applicant has requested this application be placed on hold.
Staff Planner: Dessie Redmond, 402-441-6373, dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission voted 6-0 (Campbell and Edgerton absent) to grant the applicant’s request to place this application on hold until further notice.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


None
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    SPECIAL PERMIT:

4.1
Special Permit
19025
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19025, for a CUP (Community Unit Plan) for one residential lot, with waivers to drainage study, grading plan, sidewalks, and post construction storm water management plan, on property generally located at 66th Street and Pine Lake Road. The Planning Commission action is final, unless appealed to the Lincoln City Council.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Denial
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: DENIAL: 6-0 (Campbell and Edgerton absent).

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment 2:51 p.m.

PENDING LIST:
Special Permit 18045, to allow for a County AG (Agricultural District) CUP (Community Unit Plan), consisting of 148.49 acres, more or less, for 9 single family acreage lots on property generally located at North 14th Street and Rock Creek Road.

Planning Department Staff Contacts

David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Dessie Redmond, Planner (402) 441-6373 dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Long Range Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Allan Zafft, Transpoetation Planner (402) 441-6369 azafft@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov