Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, July 10, 2019, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live on LNKTV City.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JULY 10, 2019

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda.

Submit public record comments on specific agenda item.


[All Commissioner present (2 vacant seats]

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held June 26, 2019.**APPROVED, as revised: 6-0; Campbell abstained. **

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    PERMITS:

1.1
Special Permit
16029A
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 16029A, to allow for a permanent rock crusher, on property located at 1675 Saltillo Road. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Dessie Redmond, 402-441-6373, dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the revised staff report dated July 1, 2019: 7-0. Resolution No. PC- 01661.
1.2
Special Permit
19031
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19031, to allow for the construction of an outdoor recreational facility, on property generally located at 3100 North 112th Street. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
This application was removed from the Consent Agenda and had a separate public hearing. Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated June 24, 2019: 7-0. Resolution No. PC-01662.
2. REQUEST FOR DEFERRAL

None.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


See Item 1.2.
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    CHANGE OF ZONE WITH RELATED ITEMS:

4.1a
Change of Zone
19018
More Information
CHANGE OF ZONE 19018, from AG (Agricultural District) to AG with Historic Landmark Overlay, on property located at 17185 Bluff Road.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Ed Zimmer, 402-441-6360, ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 7-0. Public hearing before the County Board is tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, July 30, 2019, 9:00 a.m.
4.1b
Special Permit
19033
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19033, to allow for the hosting of special events at a Historic Landmark, on property generally 17185 Bluff Road.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Ed Zimmer, 402-441-6360, ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 7-0. Public hearing before the County Board is tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, July 30, 2019, 9:00 a.m.

    PERMITS:

4.2
Special Permit
19030
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19030, to allow for a new ADU (Accessory Dwelling Unit), with waivers to increase the floor area and to have a separate septic system, on property generally located at 14000 NW 27th Street. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated June 24, 2019: 7-0. Resolution No. PC-01663.
4.3
Special Permit
19032
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19032, to allow for soil excavation, on property generally located at North 112th Street and Havelock Avenue. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the amended staff report as agreed upon by the applicant, dated June 27, 2019: 6-1 (Finnegan dissenting). Resolution No. PC-01664.

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment 4:11 p.m.

PENDING LIST:
Special Permit 18045, to allow for a County AG (Agricultural District) CUP (Community Unit Plan), consisting of 148.49 acres, more or less, for 9 single family acreage lots on property generally located at North 14th Street and Rock Creek Road.
Preliminary Plat 18002, to add 430 residential lots on approximately 152.1 acres, more or less, on property generally located at the SW corner of West Old Cheney Road and South Folsom Street.

Planning Department Staff Contacts


David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Dessie Redmond, Planner (402) 441-6373 dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Allan Zafft, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 azafft@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov