Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, August 7, 2019, at 1:00 p.m. in Hearing Room 112 on the first floor of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, (402) 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live on LNKTV City.

**Please Note:**The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, August 7, 2019

View or download the full Planning Commission Agenda.

Submit public record comments on specific agenda item.


Election of Chair and Vice Chair for a 2-year term. **Tracy Corr elected Chair, and Tom Beckius elected Vice-Chair for a 2-year term**

Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held July 24, 2019. **APPROVED: 6-0; (Corr abstained; 2 vacant seats)**

1. CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


    USE PERMIT:

1.1
Use Permit
133A
More Information
USE PERMIT 133A, to allow for the addition of residential uses, and reduce commercial square footage from 40,000 to 24,600 square feet with requested waivers to the side and rear yard setbacks, on property generally located at South Coddington Avenue and West Van Dorn Street.
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Dessie Redmond, 402-441-6373, dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report July 30, 2019; 7-0 (2 vacant seats). Public hearing before the City Council is tentatively scheduled for Monday, August 26, 2019, at 5:30 p.m.
1.2
Use Permit
19009
More Information
USE PERMIT 19009, to allow for office and other small scale commercial uses and related improvements, with waiver to allow light trespass across interior lot lines, on property generally located at 5601 N Street. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: George Wesselhoft, 402-441-6366, gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission ‘final action’: CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated July 25, 2019: 7-0 (2 vacant seats). Resolution No. PC-01665.
2. REQUEST FOR DEFERRAL

See Item 4.1.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

    (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)


None.
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

    SPECIAL PERMIT:

4.1
Special Permit
19035
More Information
SPECIAL PERMIT 19035, to allow for the construction of a commercial feedlot, on Property located at NW 27th Street and Ashland Road. *** FINAL ACTION ***
STAFF REPORT
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Tom Cajka, 402-441-5662, tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission granted the request on behalf of the applicant for a 4-week deferral, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for September 4, 2019.

* * * AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO * * *

Adjournment
1:11 p.m.

PENDING LIST:
Special Permit 18045, to allow for a County AG (Agricultural District) CUP (Community Unit Plan), consisting of 148.49 acres, more or less, for 9 single family acreage lots on property generally located at North 14th Street and Rock Creek Road.
Preliminary Plat 18002, to add 430 residential lots on approximately 152.1 acres, more or less, on property generally located at the SW corner of West Old Cheney Road and South Folsom Street.

Planning Department Staff Contacts


David Cary, Director of Planning (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, County Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Collin Christopher, Planner (402) 441-6370 cchristopher@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Rachel Jones, Planner (402) 441-7603 rjones@lincoln.ne.gov
Dessie Redmond, Planner (402) 441-6373 dredmond@lincoln.ne.gov
Andrew Thierolf, Planner (402) 441-6371 athierolf@lincoln.ne.gov
Kellee Van Bruggen, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 kvanbruggen@lincoln.ne.gov
George Wesselhoft, Planner (402) 441-6366 gwesselhoft@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Allan Zafft, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 azafft@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov