LPLAN 2040 2016 UPDATE



LINCOLN/LANCASTER COUNTY 2040 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN







LPlan 2040 is the Lincoln-Lancaster County 2040 Comprehensive Plan. The Plan embodies Lincoln and Lancaster County's shared vision for the future, out to the year 2040. It outlines where, how and when the community intends to grow, how to preserve and enhance the things that make it special, and strategies for implementing the vision for how we will live, work, play and get around in the future.

LPlan 2040 was developed through a broad-based community input process that included the work of the LPlan Advisory Committee (LPAC), a 20-person citizen group appointed by the Mayor representing a broad range of interests in the City and County which included the nine members of the Lincoln-Lancaster County Planning Commission. LPAC members were as follows:

Brett Baker, Small Towns Michael Cornelius, Planning Commission Scott Ernstmeyer, Education Dick Esseks, Planning Commission Wendy Francis, Planning Commission Leirion Gaylor Baird, Planning Commission David Grimes, Farmer Randy Harre, Business Tom Huston, Attorney Bill Langdon, Commercial Realty Roger Larson, Planning Commission Jeanelle Lust, Planning Commission Patte Newman, Neighborhood Jim Partington, Planning Commission Mike Rezac, Builder Dennis Scheer, Design Cecil Steward, Sustainability Lynn Sunderman, Planning Commission Tommy Taylor, Planning Commission Donna Woudenberg, Natural Resources

LPAC met from June of 2010 through June of 2011. During the same time period, broad input was sought from the community, as well as from City-County departments and numerous other agencies and organizations. The technical elements of the Transportation chapter were developed with consulting assistance from LSA Associates, Inc.

A 5-year update to LPlan 2040 was completed in 2016 which coincided with the required update of the Long Range Transportation Plan. The Planning Commission was the main public body for the update process and met regularly throughout the update to provide feedback and participate in topical discussions. The Planning Commission included the following members:

Chris Hove
Dennis Scheer
Michael Cornelius
Tracy Corr
Maja Harris
Jeanelle Lust
Lynn Sunderman
Ken Weber

Multiple public meetings were held, and web-based information was shared with the public. Participation and input from various stakeholders contributed to the updated 2040 Comprehensive Plan.