LFR Museum

Old fire engine in the LFR museum


In 1886 the City of Lincoln transitioned from the all-volunteer fire department to a career department consisting of six firefighters. They operated two stations and four pieces of apparatus - a hook and ladder truck, a hose cart, a steamer, and a chief’s buggy.

By contrast, today Lincoln Fire & Rescue employs more than 300 personnel in 16 fire stations located throughout our city. A captain, fire apparatus operator, one firefighter, and one firefighter/paramedic staff each of the 14 engines and 4 ladder trucks. In addition, there are 6 front line ambulances with one firefighter and one firefighter/paramedic. The city is divided into 167 fire response zones. One battalion chief is always on duty. Over the years, Lincoln Fire & Rescue has seen much growth and change rich with tradition, memories and memorabilia.

In 1982 honoring this rich heritage, Lincoln Fire & Rescue built a museum in Fire Station #1 at 1801 Q Street. The museum is a collection of equipment, material, and photographs which document the life span of Lincoln Fire & Rescue from the days of horse-drawn steamers to the present. Showcased is the 1911 American LaFrance – the first motorized fire engine in Lincoln, and the last of its kind in the United States still in working condition.