Mayor to Present January 2024 Award of Excellence

Published on March 18, 2024

Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird today will present the Mayor’s Award of Excellence for January 2024 to Beth Schuster, Jeff Krotz, Mitch Sump, and Kay Wenzl from Aging Partners. The award will be presented at 3 p.m. at the beginning of the City Council meeting at the County-City Building, 555 S. 10th Street. The awards recognize City employees who consistently provide exemplary service and work that demonstrates personal commitment to Lincoln.

The team was nominated by Aging Partners Director Randy Jones in the categories of productivity and customer relations for its work to move the Aging Partners main office, health and fitness center, and transportation program from three different facilities to the new Victory Park location in May 2023.

In his nomination, Jones wrote that the team members performed numerous tasks outside of their normal daily responsibilities to lead the successful comprehensive relocation of an entire City department. The community has responded positively to the move, Jones wrote.

“Our unduplicated consumer count for our dining room has increased 215% year over year to date since the move. Our health and fitness program has seen a 320% increase year over year to date since the move as well,” Jones wrote.

The other categories in which employees can be nominated are valor, safety, and loss prevention. Consideration also may be given to nominations that demonstrate self-initiated accomplishments or those completed outside of the nominee’s job description. All City employees are eligible for the award except for elected and appointed officials. 

Individuals or teams can be nominated by supervisors, peers, subordinates, and the public.  Nomination forms are available at or from department heads, employee bulletin boards or the Human Resources Department, which oversees the awards program.

All nominations are considered by the Mayor’s Award of Excellence Committee, which includes a representative with each union and a non-union representative appointed by the Mayor. Award winners receive a $50 gift certificate, a day off with pay and a certificate. All monthly winners and nominees are eligible to receive the annual award, which comes with a $250 gift certificate, two days off with pay and a plaque.