Boards & Commissions

Planning Commission Agenda

NOTICE

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 20, 2013, at 1:00 p.m. in the City-Council Chambers, County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, on the following items. For more information, call the Planning Department, 441-7491. This hearing is broadcast live and is rebroadcast on Sundays at 1:00 p.m. on 5 City-TV, Cable Channel 5.

The Lincoln City/Lancaster County Planning Commission will meet on Wednesday, February 20, 2013, from 12:00 noon - 12:45 p.m. in Conference Room 113 of the County-City Building, 555 South 10th Street, Lincoln Nebraska, for a briefing by Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Dept. on "Pipelines and Other Public Health Hazards".

**Please Note:** The Planning Commission action is final action on any item with a notation of "FINAL ACTION". Any aggrieved person may appeal Final Action of the Planning Commission to the City Council or County Board by filing a Notice of Appeal with the City Clerk or County Clerk within 14 days following the action of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission action on all other items is a recommendation to the City Council or County Board.

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 20, 2013

  • [Commissioner Francis absent]
  • Approval of minutes of the regular meeting held January 23, 2013. ** APPROVED, 8-0 (Francis absent) **
1. CONSENT AGENDA
  • (Public Hearing and Administrative Action)
CHANGE OF ZONE
1.1
Change of Zone
No. 13003
Change of Zone No. 13003, to designate Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity as a Historic Landmark, on property generally located at 635 N. 16th Street.
Staff recommendation: Approval
Staff Planner: Ed Zimmer, 402-441-6360, ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission recommendation: APPROVAL, 8-0 (Francis absent). Public Hearing before City Council tentatively scheduled for Monday, March 11, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
PERMITS
1.2
Special Permit
No. 13001
Special Permit No. 13001, expansion of a nonconforming use with adjustments to setbacks and parking, on property generally located at Highway 2 and Eiger Drive. *** FINAL ACTION ***
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Brian Will, 402-441-6362, bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Planning Commission 'final action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report dated February 5, 2013, 8-0 (Francis absent). Resolution No. PC-01319.
2. REQUESTS FOR DEFERRAL
2.1
County Change of Zone No.
No. 12038
County Change of Zone No. 12038, from AG Agricultural District to AGR Agricultural Residential District, on property generally located at NW 126th Street and W. Bluff Road.
Staff recommendation: Applicant has requested a deferral until April 17, 2013.
Staff Planner: Sara Hartzell, 402-441-6371, shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
Applicant's request for deferral granted, with CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING AND ACTION scheduled for Wednesday, April 17, 2013.
3. ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA
None
4. PUBLIC HEARING AND ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
PERMITS
4.1
Special Permit
No. 13006
Special Permit No. 13006, Scout's Tower Addition Community Unit Plan, for approximately 20 single family lots, with requests to waive front yard setbacks, storm water detention facilities, and recreation facility, on property generally located at 1800 SW 8th Street.
Staff recommendation: Conditional Approval
Staff Planner: Paul Barnes, 402-441-6372, pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Had public hearing. Planning Commission 'final action': CONDITIONAL APPROVAL, as set forth in the staff report, as revised on February 20, 2013, 8-0 (Francis absent). Resolution No. PC-01320.
AT THIS TIME, ANYONE WISHING TO SPEAK ON AN ITEM NOT ON THE AGENDA, MAY DO SO
PENDING LIST: None

Planning Department Staff Contacts

Stephen Henrichsen, Development Review Manager (402) 441-6374 shenrichsen@lincoln.ne.gov
David Cary, Long Range Planning Manager (402) 441-6364 dcary@lincoln.ne.gov
Paul Barnes, Planner (402) 441-6372 pbarnes@lincoln.ne.gov
Michael Brienzo, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6369 mbrienzo@lincoln.ne.gov
Tom Cajka, Planner (402) 441-5662 tcajka@lincoln.ne.gov
Christy Eichorn, Planner (402) 441-7603 ceichorn@lincoln.ne.gov
Brandon Garrett, Planner (402) 441-6373 bgarrett@lincoln.ne.gov
Stacey Groshong Hageman, Planner (402) 441-6361 slhageman@lincoln.ne.gov
Sara Hartzell, Planner (402) 441-6371 shartzell@lincoln.ne.gov
David Pesnichak, Transportation Planner (402) 441-6363 dpesnichak@lincoln.ne.gov
Brian Will, Planner (402) 441-6362 bwill@lincoln.ne.gov
Ed Zimmer, Historic Preservation Planner (402) 441-6360 ezimmer@lincoln.ne.gov